Microbiology - St. Xavier's College

Department of Microbiology

Vision: Creation of an atmosphere for greater understanding of the diversity and application of the microbial world.

Mission: To challenge students to integrate learning and research skills in the pursuit of excellence.

The Department of Microbiology came into existence in June 1983, at St. Xavier’s College Mapusa, affiliated at that time to Bombay University. It was the first and only College in Goa to offer the subject at the B.Sc. level until 1989. Since June 1988, the Department is affiliated to Goa University. In June 1998, the Department started the six units course in Microbiology and was the first College in Goa to offer the six unit course at the degree level.

All round formation of students is ensured through specially designed co-curricular and extra-curricular activities that are conducted throughout the year, such as, Outstation Study Trips, Certificate Courses, Internship Programmes, Consultancy/Extension Services, Inter Collegiate Microbiology Festival, Social Outreach Programmes, Seminars, Hands on Training Workshops, Career Guidance talks and Student Exchange Programmes.

After B. Sc. in Microbiology students can pursue Masters degree in Microbiology, Marine Microbiology, Biotechnology, Marine Science, Biophysics, Biochemistry, Applied Genetics, Bioinformatics, Agricultural Microbiology, Veterinary Microbiology, Forensic Science, Integrated course for a Masters and Post Doctorate degree, Masters degree in Business Administration, Masters Degree in Hospital Administration, Masters degree in Nutrition & Dietetics Diploma in Medical Laboratory Techniques.

Students of Microbiology can seek employment as Executives in quality control in Food and Beverage based industries and Pharmaceutical based companies, Production Managers in Microbiology and Biotechnology based companies, Analysts in Pathology Laboratories and hospitals, Good Manufacturing Practice Auditors in industries, teachers/ professors in schools and colleges, Project Assistants in National Institutes, Officers in Pollution Control Board, Treatment Plants and Agriculture Departments. Microbiologists can start up food processing units, biogas plant, waste management units, mushroom cultivation units, diagnostic centers and other small agro based industries.

Faculty


  Ms. Ursula Barreto (Vice-Principal & HOD)
  Associate Professor
  Ursula.B@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Ms. Linette De Souza Noronha
  Assistant Professor
  Linette.D@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Ms. Katelyn Gonsalves
  Assistant Professor
  Katelyn.G@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Ms. Arina Frank
  Assistant Professor
  Arina.F@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Ms. Ruella D’ Souza
  Assistant Professor
  Ruella.D@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Mr. Siddhesh Menon
  Assistant Professor
  Siddhesh.M@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Dr. Marielou Ferrao
  Assistant Professor
  Marielou.F@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Dr. Sheryanne Velho-Pereira
  Assistant Professor
  Sheryanne.P@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Dr Valerie Gonsalves
  Assistant Professor
  Valerie.G@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Dr. Trelita de Sousa
  Assistant Professor
  Trelita.S@xavierscollege-goa.com
Winners X-IOM 2020, Inter-Collegiate Mathematics Winners X-IOM 2020,  Inter-Collegiate Mathematics Event, Organised by Government College, Sanquelim
#mhrdindia 
#xaviersgoa
#XaviersCollege_Goa_laurels
#xavierscollege_goa_Mathematics

Winners X-IOM 2020, Inter-Collegiate Mathematics Event, Organised by Government College, Sanquelim
#mhrdindia
#xaviersgoa
#XaviersCollege_Goa_laurels
#xavierscollege_goa_Mathematics
...

139 0
This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: API requests are being delayed. New posts will not be retrieved for at least 5 minutes.

A
A
A