English - St. Xavier's College

Department of English

Vision: Appreciating cultures and enhancing life skills through language andliterature.

Mission: Exposing young minds to world cultures through literature in Englishand refining language skills for universal application.

The Department of English organises and participates in seminars, workshops, conferences, etc. It trains students in Public Speaking, Elocution, Debate, Drama and Journalism. It organises interactive sessions with writers, poets, and artists. Students are involved in editing the in-house newsletter Eloquence, and the biannual college newsletter Xavierwrite. Language related Summer Courses are organized for the public. The faculty and students are exposed to the global literary scenario while attending the annual Goa Arts and Literature Festival (GALF). The Department organizes WORDSUP a national level intercollegiate word-based event.
The job prospects for students of English Literature are vast and bright, in a booming media world. Since literature is all-encompassing, a student of Literature naturally acquires knowledge of various other disciplines giving him/her an edge in the job market. In fact, many commercial concerns stipulate graduation in literature as their criteria for job selection at the national and international level. Opportunities await students in the Civil Services, Secretarial Practice, Networking, working at Call Centres, Translation Studies, Journalism, Content Writing, Documentaries, Film Scripting, Theatre, Public Relations, Advertising, Publishing, and Medical Transcription; among others.

Faculty

Dr. Maria Claudette Gomes (H.O.D.)
Associate Professor
Maria.G@xavierscollege-goa.com
Ms. Alice D’Cruz
Associate Professor
Alice.D@xavierscollege-goa.com
Dr. Prema A. Rocha
Associate Professor
Prema.R@xavierscollege-goa.com
Ms. Sunita Mesquita
Associate Professor
Sunita.M@xavierscollege-goa.com
Ms. Shirlene Palha Fernandes
Assistant Professor
Shirlene.F@xavierscollege-goa.com
Mr. Aaron Paul Fernandes
Assistant Professor
Aaron.F@xavierscollege-goa.com
This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Error: API requests are being delayed. New posts will not be retrieved for at least 5 minutes.

A
A
A