Commerce - St. Xavier's College

Department of Commerce

Vision: Training of young people towards academic excellence and equipping them with the ability to adapt to the dynamic corporate environment.

Mission: To impart holistic commerce education with a blend of industry experience and to provide students a platform to choose and nurture their careers.

Apart from equipping our students with academic excellence, Organisation of various commerce related activities to expose students to relevant and recent trends in commerce and trade is one of the objective of our department.

The department was conferred with the “BEST COMMERCE COLLEGE” award by the Indian Youth Chamber of Commerce and Industry, New Delhi. ‘ARENA’ an inter collegiate commerce event is organised annually and has had an overwhelming response.

The department organises ‘Commerce Blitz’-a wall paper presentation on current events in commerce, which is a platform for the students to showcase their talents as well as keeping them well informed in their field. Industrial visits are organised to different companies like ACGL, NESTLE to make them aware of the industrial functioning.

Inter State study trips to IKEA, RAMOJI film city, BERRYS INDIA, MAPRO, were organised for Third Year students to provide practical exposure to retail marketing and production processes. Seminars, workshops and talks by guest speakers from various fields of commerce are
organised to increase awareness about the numerous job opportunities available and to keep our students updated of the current market requirements.

The department publishes an annual newsletter, COMQUEST, which not only highlights the activities and achievements of our department but also includes intellectual contribution from faculty and students. The students of our department have been active participants in various activities in collegiate and inter collegiate events and have brought in laurels to our institution.

Upon graduating , students of our department have been employed in financial, education, government administration, hospitality and IT industries, both in India and abroad. Many have chosen professional courses and are practicing Chartered Accountants, Company Secretaries, Finance and Investment.

Faculty


  Ms. Sumina da Costa (HOD)
  Associate Professor
  Sumina.D@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Ms. Maria Difa Fernandes
  Associate Professor
  Difa.F@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Dr. Yasmin Shaikh
  Associate Professor
  Yasmin.S@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Mr. Herwin Furtado
  Associate Professor
  Herwin .F@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Dr. Dadapir Moulasab Jakati
  Associate Professor
  Dadapir.J@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Dr. Oscar de Melo
  Associate Professor
  Oscar.B@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Dr. Carmelita D’Mello
  Associate Professor
  Carmilita.D@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Dr. Santana Fernandes
  Associate Professor
  Santana.F@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Mr. Carmelito De Souza
  Assistant Professor
  Carmelito.D@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Ms. Mumtaz Mendonca
  Assistant Professor
  Mumtaz.M@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Ms. Zarina Chawdhari
  Assistant Professor
  Zarina.C@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Ms. Sandra Fernandes
  Assistant Professor
  Sandra.Commerce@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Ms. Kimberly Barros
  Assistant Professor
  Kimberly.B@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Ms. Alia Aga
  Assistant Professor
  Alia.A@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Ms. Victorya Rodrigues
  Assistant Professor
  Victoria.R@xavierscollege-goa.com


  Ms. Swizel Alphonso
  Assistant Professor
  Swizel.A@xavierscollege-goa.com
A
A
A